Skip to content

Cardiff University Lightning Laboratory

Cardiff UniversityCardiff

Cardiff University's Lightning Laboratory publishes full lightning waveform generation up to 400kV and 200kA. Its current first-party page also lists instrumentation from high-speed cameras, spectroscopy and schlieren to materials and gas analysis, with modelling and simulation capabilities.

Reviewed by Arc · About this review

Key facts

Published lightning waveform capability
The laboratory's current page says it generates full lightning waveforms up to 400kV and 200kA.
Published location and contact route
The current page lists Cardiff University Lightning Laboratory at Pacific Road, Cardiff, CF24 5HL and provides a Send Message contact form.

Testing capabilities

Full lightning waveform generation

The laboratory's current page says it generates full lightning waveforms up to 400kV and 200kA.

Diagnostics, analysis and modelling

The page lists instrumentation from high-speed cameras, spectroscopy and schlieren to materials and gas analysis, with modelling and simulation capabilities.

Equipment and published limits

Published equipment limits and conditions
SpecificationPublished valueConditions
Published waveform maximumUp to 400kV and 200kAThe laboratory page presents these as its published full-lightning-waveform maximum. Confirm the applicable configuration, item suitability and conditions directly with the laboratory.

Access and contact

The laboratory page lists its Pacific Road, Cardiff address and a Send Message contact form. It does not state booking, current capacity, pricing, lead time or item-acceptance terms; confirm those directly with the laboratory.

Facility contact

Address
Pacific Road
Cardiff, CF24 5HL

Standards and accreditation

Public information not available. Contact test facility provider for more information.

What to confirm with the facility

  • Before arranging work, define the required waveform, item geometry, instrumentation, safety constraints and measurements with the laboratory.

Before requesting a test

Public information not available. Contact test facility provider for more information.

Frequently asked questions

What lightning waveform capability does the laboratory publish?

Its current page says it generates full lightning waveforms up to 400kV and 200kA. The same page lists high-speed cameras, spectroscopy, schlieren, materials and gas analysis, modelling and simulation capabilities. Confirm the configuration and item suitability directly with the laboratory.

Public information not available. Contact test facility provider for more information.

Further reading

Public information not available. Contact test facility provider for more information.

Sources and review

Arc reviewed the linked Lightning Laboratory page on 30 September 2026 by direct HTTP retrieval. This is a review of published information, not a facility inspection, test witnessing or confirmation of availability. Confirm the applicable configuration, item suitability and booking terms with the laboratory.

Arc publishes this directory entry and does not operate the test facility. Suggest a correction to Arc with a supporting source.

  1. Cardiff University Lightning Laboratory

    Cardiff University Lightning Laboratory · Reviewed

    First-party page used for the laboratory identity, Cardiff address, published waveform figures, diagnostics summary and Send Message route. It does not state booking availability, capacity, pricing, lead time or item-acceptance terms.